Negotiation

I was walking alone one day,
And before me,
Two people appeared.
One was my first love,
The man who taught me
How to love,
Who knew all of me,
Whose one word
Could still blow hurricanes,
Who thought my thoughts
As he once breathed my breaths.
The other was the One,
The man I found
At the end of the twisted road
Of humanity
That began with the first,
The man who did not know me
But still loved me,
Accepting the flawed and broken being
That I had become,
And showing me his scars in return.
They wanted me to choose.
I smiled and negotiated.
“One of you can live in my memories,” I said,
“And the other can live in my heart.”

-A (@firstdraftpoet on twitter)

Leave a Reply

