Balance

The words are at the tip of my tongue,
Threatening to fall out
And destroy a friendship
Carefully tended to by me and her.
My mind, tinted in caution
By chains of experiences,
Refuses to trust,
And forces the questioning of loyalty
Over the brink,
While my heart holds it hanging.
I know that if I let the words fall
I will lose my friend,
Even as my mind’s curiosity will be satisfied.
The choice between heart and head
Lies in balance on the brass scales
That measure my trust.

-A (@firstdraftpoet on twitter)

One comment

  1. assortmentbox · March 27, 2015

    Lovely!

    Like

Leave a Reply

