Happy New Year

Haze, and through it, a significant line,
Thinner than hair,
It pulls me through.
The passion of some singer
Pours out into the alcohol.
Travelling beside me,
Friends,
Blessed am I to call them that.
To them, I put forth,
A small part of my buried, dormant soul,
And they take it,
Some give me back a part of theirs,
Some guard theirs as vigilantly as ever,
And I am nevertheless glad,
For in this moment where another chapter closes,
And I can do nothing but accept that
I am one step closer to whatever tomorrow brings,
This is a small moment of harmony.

Leave a Reply

